Smiling music: Dvorák Symphony No.8

Each month Cacophony brings you a major work practically guaranteed to make you happy – there aren’t many symphonies more cheery and life-affirming than the 8th symphony by Dvorák, a man who great tunes poured out from. This is in 4 parts, one for each movement/ section of the piece, so listen to all four parts to hear the whole thing.

The music:

Antonín Dvorák: Symphony No.8 in G op.88

1. Allegro con brio

2. Adagio

3I. Allegretto grazioso – Molto vivace

4. Allegro ma non troppo

The players:

Baltimore Symphony Orchestra

Marin Alsop, conductor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *