Walking the tightrope: Shostakovich Symphony No.6

Dmitri Shostakovich tries to speak the truth about the grim reality of life in 1930s Russia, whilst at the same time giving the authorities the upbeat, cheery music they wanted.  An impossible task? [3 parts]

The music:

Dmitri Shostakovich: Symphony No.6 in B minor op.54

  1. Largo
  2. Allegro
  3. Presto

The players:

Russian National Orchestra

Vladimir Jurowski, conductor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *